DHM data

I agree that they have years of experience of observing/collecting the data. They have enough manpower, good guidelines but still; don’t we need to overlook?

Ok, we have challenging topography, lack of enough resources but I am more concerned here for not having effective use of available resources.

confused, Let’s talk on the basis of one example. I was in Dadeldhura of western Nepal nearly three months back.  I had taken bath early in the morning and the water was too cold. Therefore, I decided to stay in the sun for some time, at the same time involve in the works that could be done by being in sun because we had a long way to go.

In the case of Nepal, DHM is only the responsible organization for establishment and management of hydro-meteorological-climatic weather stations and sharing of authorized data. Oh yeah, DHM stands for Department of Hydrology and Metrology and it’s a governmental body that is providing us the vital information on daily weather and giving insights on the climate of Nepal. And all the personnel working at the central, regional and local level, thank you so much for your hard work and dedication, you are really doing significant work. But I was disappointed for some time,

I had stayed in the white building (shown below) and I was on the ground. I was really happy to see the meteorological station at this place. I feel like wow, being an environment science student and working in the field of climate change I should see this. On the first glance, I felt like, wow, the government is doing great keeping both the automatic and manual instruments, and they seems to provide really good data.

DSC05533.JPG
And he was asking me, if we could manage automatic stations all around the country. I just smiled back at him

I still remember the sky was clear, there was sunshine for the whole morning. Usually, Campbell–Stokes recorder (sometimes called as Stokes Sphere) is used to measure the sunshine. It consists of a spherical glass lens (photo below) to focus the sun rays on a specially designed paper. The paper burns, when the intensity of the sunlight reaches certain threshold and the hours of sunshine is calculated based on the burning on the paper.  When I saw the paper I was surprised to see the gap in the burn, which I believe should not be. I looked around and feel the presence of huge trees that is obstructing the morning light reaching the instrument. It was not due to sun being suddenly lost or blocked by the clouds.

It was simply because the recorder was blocked by the tree, a simple human/plant(i don’t know what to tell to this type of error) error which can be easily be maintained if proper attention is given. I did not see other data but I am sure that there could be some fluctuation in other parameters too. For example, wind speed, which could have been affected by the large building and trees nearby.

DSC05530.JPG
Sunshine recorder

I know, it’s really raw data and it will be processed, cross checked and verified but I am simply saying why to let grow large trees near the station which can fluctuate the information. And those building, aren’t they affecting the data.  Hey, by the way, I had talked to the concerned available person at that office and they are planning to shift the station soon. They have fixed the new location but when will it be shifted. Who knows 🙂 I don’t know.

DSC05532.JPG
The background trees were not that far

This is just my personal experience, no offenses to anyone. Being an early career scientist and interested more in the data analysis/interpretation. I try to visit the nearest weather station, while I am at the field/traveling, if possible. This gives me immense satisfaction. A simple human error can create lots of proxy data. And in most of the time, we sit in office/room, believe in data we have bought from DHM and do the major analysis. So, I think; maybe field study is must, for observing the real situation of the ground and at the same time seeing what type of data we are playing with. Also, this can act as feedback loop sometimes.

You might listen to the weather update daily or watch it in your mobile/tablet. Have you ever wondered how these data are generated? How much do you know about the satellite data? Have you seen or visited one of the ground station that collects weather data?

 

Leave a Reply

