goosebumps, withdraw, agreement

After watching his talk on youtube I just thought. Maybe he is thinking only from the business point of view. Is it the right way for the president !. Maybe he and his team are running for the money and economic development which is good but what’s the point of running when we have lost our home and got nothing to rest on! Where do we keep that money, how long and far can we run if we do not have the place to breathe and stay. Earth is our home and we cannot just ignore it. We cannot just ignore our growing wound, and run for money like hell; we must have to take care of it.

Being environment science student with climate change as the major, I thought I should speak something about it but what should I speak. And what’s the point of speaking by a poor fellow who lives between the mountains! If there had not been Mt. Everest who would know this country’s name!!, And why should anyone care about such a tiny little country which is absolutely nothing and Me, oh forget about that!! well well well, even two of the US’s biggest business leaders, Tesla founder Elon Musk and Disney’s Robert Iger voice were unheard by the president and they quit from the Trump’s high-powered business advisory panel as morally. And Me, just a little fellow from the little country.

Today, as I woke up, my news-feed timeline was filled with US President leaving the Paris Agreement. For those who are unaware of Paris climate Agreement, it is an agreement within the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) dealing with greenhouse gas emissions mitigation, adaptation, and finance. By following this agreement each country determines its own contribution level it makes in order to mitigate global warming, however, it is not legally binding. There is no mechanism to force a country to set a specific target, however, each country should focus to maintain the global average temperature well below 2 °C on the basis of pre-industrial levels. Also, promote the activities for fostering climate resilience and low greenhouse gas emissions development.

I don’t know, it might be good from their perspective, the perspective of gaining more money without considering anything. Sometimes I feel like Trump and his advisors have completely misconceived what the Paris agreement is but again I think he has great advisors. Maybe they are seeing from the business purpose only. Just accounting from the business profit and loss balance sheet only, maybe he did not consider the long-term analysis. Just be in office for some years and after that, oh who cares !!! anyone could be blamed and be free. But how long can we live like that? Suppose I am a huge business man (which obviously, I am not) and earn lots of money,  my each moment count as money but what if I do not care about my daily habit. What if I don’t care about my food, exercise. I might feel I am earning a lot but that earning will not be enough to heal once I get the disease. I am not telling climate change is a disease but you know what I mean, right?  We cannot just ignore the effects of this global phenomenon, we cannot make a profit by making ourself dead.

Donald Trump may think tackling climate change is bad for business. But business? Is it not the time to shift from traditional business approach towards the clean approaches. How long will the coal last, how long will this traditional fuel run, are we going to the nuclear war, anyway business is business why don’t we do the clean and green business that is good for our family and mother earth? “The United States will withdraw from the Paris climate accord, but begin negotiations to re-enter either the Paris accord” or another “entirely new transaction, on terms that are fair to the United States.” It’s like oh I am the boss I am a problem with it, either modify it or I don’t care. Let’s see how it goes because as of June 2017, 195 UNFCCC members have signed the agreement, 148 of which have ratified it. Sometimes I feel like we never know what will happen in politics but the next minute I again think its not always like that.

Trump himself said that small businesses are booming and he was able to provide more than a million private sector jobs since his election. That’s great but still wondering how the tiny change in temperature does not make any differences. Let me share you my experience, I got this interesting idea of having fish in the home. Got aquarium and some fishes. The water temperature was cold enough so I thought to increase the water temperature and increased it by just a single degree and went to sleep but on the very next day some of the fish were dead. Later I realized, I had increased the temperature just a degree which was within the range of the fish but the time duration of the change of water temperature was too short and those fishes were not able to adapt to the new environment. Naturally, the temperature would maintain/increase but I wanted to help those little fishes and my ignorance was harmful. This global climate change is a natural phenomenon but our activities are enhancing the temperature of the Earth at a faster rate, we are just accelerating the phenomenon, just as I increased the temperature of the water in the aquarium.

Similarly, our act of not caring our daily activities, working to increase the pollution and harmful gases, instead doing nothing to keep the natural environment is supporting the increasing temperature at the faster rate than it actually should. Yes, Trump truly said no responsible leader can put the workers and the people of their country at this debilitating and tremendous disadvantage. But I think it’s time to think what’s advantage and disadvantage, what’s the time frame, don’t we have the common sky. Will our children’s children get the same fresh air-water as we do now,  should we change the way of thinking, behaving, how can we act for sustainable future.

If you haven’t listened to him then here is the full video and if you want to read here is the full text. here are some the feedbacks of the scientists. Also feel free to share your personal opinion.

Here are some of the critical cartoons. Hay first one is real photo (from the web), he was telling about how little impact it makes.

No automatic alt text available.

Leave a Reply

