Cooking food

Yesterday I went to the friends’ home to give him a surprise. He had no idea that I was about to join him. Sometimes surprises are great fun and enjoyable. It was afternoon time and he was doing something in the kitchen. I went directly to his room opened it and started to explore the room( he is good friend of mine so no restrictions in each other’s room). He is back to the room after five minutes with a cup of tea.

Oh! you are here. I don’t believe you. It’s really great to see you. I had thought that it would be hard to meet you. If you have come then take this. Oh you are giving me the cup that you have prepared it for yourself. Take this I will make another for me. I took that. It was really a great coffee. So delicious. I enjoyed every syrup.

He was back with hot water in his hand. I felt sad that I eat his and he did not prepare new for himself. Why did not you prepare once again. Oh it had took nearly half an hour to make it, such a hard work and concentration leave it; I will make again in the next time; forget it you enjoyed the coffee that’s good for me; how are you doing.

Actually cooking food is not a joke. It’s not only putting the ingredients in the pot; boil it and it’s ready to eat. Yes, it was thinking for me some time back. I mean I used to tell to myself that I know to cook but when I actually have to cook it’s really a tough job. I use to cook for myself but when you have to serve it’s really a tough job. If we are having it for oneself we can have it of any taste, any type who cares and if it’s not good dump it who cares. When you have to be the real cook it’s the decision making time. Here I respect all the mothers and sisters who make such a wonderful dish for us to eat.  And some of my good friends who are best at bringing best dish even from the simple ingredients.

While I thought of cooking food I use to think that I would not die for not being able to make food for myself. I can cook and serve to some (I mean some because I still doubt that I can prepare the food for the large number of people) Due to certain circumstances I had to cook in home for some weeks, and interestingly I had to prepare the morning breakfast and lunch and sometimes breakfast and dinner. Oh! At first I thought how it can be hard. It simple!!. It started on. Oh I had to wake up early, be myself fresh. Prepare what to cook, how to cook and it had to be served at the early hours. Within eight to nine in the morning I had to prepare the food. In the lower middle class families the condition is more hard because we cannot invest more amount for the variety of dishes each time so the chances  of repetition of dish  is more common and the challenge also lies in preparing the dish out the repeated variety and fewer ingredients in the better and fresh way.  

First day it was fun, I woke up early, had in mind what to cook and how to cook and it went on smooth. The food was good, there was certain appreciation. It feels good when your food gets certain feedback whether good or bad. But as the days went on, it became hard, one day I thought it as the routine job and stated to do the work but certainly the flames burned my hand, the hot utensils touched my fingers.  Also, the next time while I was trying to put the ingredients in the oil, the oil spur out and touched my hand. Though it was not major, I felt. It’s all about the concentration how to do the work, how you put your heart and soul into the ingredients. Then the ingredients becomes food to eat. I had to wake up early, I can’t say oh I am feeling to sleep a bit more, it’s about the feeling the sense of responsibility.

Another main factor is: We put different ingredients in the dish but it’s the trick and caliber which ingredient to make more specific and make the tongue feel better, it needs more practice and understanding of making the food. I know I can’t be chef but I felt like watching some episodes of Masterchef Australia/other country and I watched them and those episodes make me feel good. I concluded that cooking is not the joke or simple thing to do; we owe respect for our sister and mother (usually they make food for us in the Nepalese home)

Few days back there was festival Rakshya bandan and we have the culture of having Kwati (Kwati is sprout soup of nine types of beans) on this day. This is the day when the janai is changed and also signifies the end of the rainy month and beginning of the cold season in Nepal. (Janai is a cotton string worn across the chest by Hindu male. The Janai initiates the boy into manhood and commands them to devotedly follow the religion and the path of truth).

This dish reminds me of the preparedness/home work  that we should do to prepare a quality and good food. If there is not preparation it does not becomes Kwati It becomes (gedagudi ko tarkari) just become a vegetable to be eaten with rice made of dry cereals.

These some weeks of intensive food making practice have proved me that I can cook food but I still  need to think more over it to make it more delicious and if I have to serve to the larger number I need to practice more.

Besides cooking some simple stuff and thinking we can cook the whole things easily, and serve easily; we use to do lots of things and think we are smart or doing it smartly here are the list of some interesting things that we use to do (copied from social site)

  • I’d put my arms in my shirt and told people I lost my arms
  • Had that one pen with four colors, and tried to push all the buttons at once
  • Waited behind a door to scare someone, then leaving because they’re taking too long to come out.
  • Faked being asleep, so I could be carried to bed.
  • Used to think that the moon followed our bus.
  • Tried to balance the switch between On/ Off.
  • Watching two drops of rain roll down window and pretending it was a race
  • The only thing i had to take care of was a school bag.
  • Swallowed a fruit seed I was scared to death that a tree was going to grow in my tummy.
  • Would restart the video game whenever I knew I was going to lose.
  • Closed the fridge extremely slowly to see when the lights went off.
  • Walked into a room, forgot what you needed, Walked out, and then remember.

 dedicated to his best coffee ever 🙂

2 thoughts on “Cooking food

Leave a Reply

